122 hours in

“Ryman’s mommy”

I love my new role in life. Who would have thought that Jeremy and I would have a baby! If you were around us enough you would know that wasn’t our plan. “Our plan”, we should have known better. When we found out we were pregnant, we were reminded that God’s plan doesn’t always line up with your plan. Boy, are we happy that it didn’t. We already can’t imagine our life without this little nugget.
She started to wake up some last night and was moving around. Opening her eyes, grunting like she wants to cry, furrowing her brow (she already has a little temper) and she is starting to loose some of the fluid. When we left Baptist on Friday Ryman weighed 5lbs 3oz. Yesterday she was up to 8lbs 6oz due to all the fluid build up. She seriously reminded us of the Michelin Man :). She had lost an ounce yesterday so we are hoping some more came off throughout the night. I am sure she is tired of being swollen.
I got to make a very important phone call last night. I had gotten the number for the nurses station from one of the nurses at baptist before I was discharged. In all the chaos I hadn’t had time to call and try to talk with Wendelyn. Wendelyn was the nurse that noticed Ryman’s change and called the doctor. I had her as my nurse on Wednesday night and Thursday night and she was amazing. I was able to call last night and she was working. You have no idea how amazing it felt to let her know that Ryman was still with us. She was so excited to get the call and said she had been praying for us and Ryman and didn’t know if she would ever find out if the Lord was taking care of our little girl. HIPAA laws say she can’t call Vanderbilt and ask. So to get the call from us made her so very happy. I could feel the lords hand once again. He is always with us. She gave us the NICU number and my plan is to try to contact the doctor who diagnosed this. All this doctors and nurses at Vanderbilt keep emphasizing how rare it is that this is caught at such an early point of high ammonia levels. Each time they say it’s amazing, I think yes, our god is amazing.
We still can’t hold Ryman since she has a pick line going to a main artery. Definitely wouldn’t want to accidentally pull that out! But today I know she is being taken extra care of by a very special angel. May 1st is my aunt Rhonda’s birthday. She passed almost a year ago from a long battle with cancer. She was only in her 40’s and was not only my aunt but one of my best friends. I found out I was pregnant only a few months after she left us and what I would have given to be able to tell her that news. She always said I would be a great mom, I would correct her and say I think you mean aunt or babysitter. I bet she is smiling today and thinking I told you so. I have carried her bible bookmark with her initial (some day I hope Ryman uses it for that same purpose) around with me the past few days and know that she is with me too.
God is showing us each minute of the day that we can trust him and his plan for us. We love you all and are so grateful for the prayers that Ryman in being showered in.
Morning update: Her feedings are still going great, ammonia level of 39! Now to loose those cute puffy hands and what Jeremy calls her Jabba the Hutt neck.

Also prayers for some friends who have a baby boy in NICU as well. Camden came 10 weeks early and is having some complications that just put him back in the NICU. Emily and Eric, we are praying for your little boy.

Wendelyn, we love you!

My sister took this picture a few weeks ago, Happy Birthday Rhonda.

20130501-063302.jpg

Thanks goes to our friend Britany who took some amazing pictures of our little girl. They are beautiful!

20130501-063339.jpg

20130501-063401.jpg

6 thoughts on “122 hours in

  1. I find myself falling asleep with u all on my mind and I wake with the urge to see If their is an updated blog on Ry’s condition. I have a feeling that today is going to be a great day 4 her being that it’s her gaurdian angels birthday!!! I believe you all will receive a wonderful birthday present from mom of great news!! Happy 1 week old Ryman Ali love u very much n may God continue pouring his blessings out on you!!

    Leslie, Zan n Gabriella

  2. Your writing is so honest and loving. I am so glad you are Rymans mommy. We so often have our our plans and freak out when God takes over, but you and Jeremy have embraced his blessing and love his baby as much as he knew you would. Much love from the Florida cousins

  3. Thank you for taking the time to write these updates. We anxiously await them each day. Eden loves praying for little Ryman every night. I always have said that you guys would be great parents and I’m so glad God gave you this little miracle! We love you guys!

  4. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. The fact that you have the composure to log a journal of your feelings and her status says a great many things about your fortitude. One day the three of you will read this account together and be reminded of and eternally thankful for the support and love that it took to recover from such a life event. Brandy & Jeremy, we’re all here for you and I look forward to the post that describes your feelings when you get to hold her again. As they say, “There won’t be a dry eye in the room.” Love, Reese

  5. Such encouraging news to hear you & your family talk of the blessings in the midst of a storm of life right now. Thank you for your updates. We are praying that God will keep you close to His hand of protection during these next few weeks & months. Cindy Beirne

  6. Brandy, I continue to pray everyday for Baby Ryman. I feel like God has a plan and everything is going to be just fine. Each day it seems like things are improving. One day all three of you will look back at this hard time and be thankful for the love and support that got you all through this. Love, Brandi & Nathan

Leave a Reply

